Wrapping up the Week! Pay Attention to Your Yoga, Pay Attention to Your Life

Alright, much better day yesterday, and today is Friday! Yay!


Celebrated my co-teacher’s birthday yesterday by bringing in a little chocolate birthday cake from Paris Baguette, a chain of pastry shops here in Seoul. On top of the cake, I placed candles that said  
“<3 YOU”, and totally surprised her with the cake, candles, and the kids singing “Happy Birthday” to her.  She was actually touched! It was adorable, “Elisa, I’m so touch-ed”, she leaned over and said to me in her even more adorable Korean accent. It was a special moment, and I love happy surprises.

chocolate cake from paris b.  (totally copy/pasted from the net as i’m too lazy to upload pics as of late…)
My patience was better yesterday with the kids.  I had a good night’s rest and was careful with how much sugar I ate all day. I’m noticing that lack of *quality* sleep (it doesn’t really matter if I get 8, as long as the hours are quality), and/or too much sugar really put me in a “mood”.  It’s pretty easy to get too much sugar here at preschool with all the cakes (see above, which is a daily thing as kids have birthday parties all the time) going around.  Plus the stress that can come with teaching 20 kids sometimes leaves you reaching for chocolate.
I read a great quote the other day, from star yoga teacher Erich Schiffman’s book. To paraphrase:
“Pay attention to your yoga, pay attention to your life.  Both will become more interesting.”
 
So what did I learn this week by paying a bit more attention?
In yoga: My hamstrings are tighter than ever despite teaching 3 classes a week and doing my own lil’ morning and bedtime routines..  solution? Stay longer in forward bends as to not shock the muscles.
*It’s hard for me to get to bed after teaching evening classes.  Possible solution: How are you teaching this class?  Crap!  Elisa…stop running it like an AM class. Bring the energy down a notch. Enter “moon salutations” and knock off the Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation) and backbends.  Chill out.  
In life: 
*unquality sleep + sugar = moods.  Solution: Do things to get better sleep. I stumbled on a book called “The Well-Rested Woman”, and have started taking tips from that, like creating a bedtime routine.  Focus on protein and veggies.  Do I really need sugary soymilk, chocolate, and cakes that are conveniently lying around?
*Tuesday night late evening tea parties at my place with awesome friends are pretty amazing, and being around positive people sometimes can boost my energy like nothing else. Wish i’d done this more throughout the past year! But hey, maybe all that solo time was a good thing, too. 
 
Yay for random rambles…Happppy Friday!
Leave a Reply

