teaching my first yoga class!

So out of all the shit talking I do on Seoul (being landlocked, freezing temps, too fast-paced life for me, unhealthy and excessive habits of the culture, over crowdedness…), I have to admit, rather REALIZE, that this place has really offered me some amazing opportunities I wouldn’t have accomplished in the States, or had the confidence to realize in the States at such point in my life……


On top of meeting some lifelong amigas, learning to teach kids, and really get strong/be forced to stand on my own two feet, I just completed a yoga teacher’s training course here in Seoul.  A friend had sent me an ad from a studio needing teachers a few months ago…and it just so happens that the position started immediately after my training completed.  So now I’ve got a job teaching yoga 3 nights per week~What a way to spend my last 6 weeks in the ROK…teaching something I’m passionate about.  And further, what synchronicity to have occur.  


So last night was the first class.  I was soooooo nervous for the hour or so before class.  I showed up to the studio to a packed class of about 25 people!  I’d prepared an hour long balancing flow on a cheat sheet, starting off in child’s pose, then coming into Surya Namaskar A then some variations on Surya Namaskar B. So much adrenaline was pumping through me that I never got tired, and I hope my many sun salutes weren’t too hard on the class.  We flowed down to a relaxing hip opening floor sequence, with some twists.  I’d borrowed some sequencing here and there from my favorite teachers back home (who I’ve been able to keep up with through the magic of streaming yoga videos on the web), but tried to be creative as I could with the sequence.  Most of the time, I didn’t even end up using the cheat sheet…and just let the yoga flow.  I acted confident, therefore felt more confident…though of course the nervousness was still present.  It felt sooooo good to see all my students (my students!) resting in savasana at the end.  It felt even better when students said, “thank you” as they left class.  I can’t wait to teach again tomorrow 🙂

teaching the kiddos some yoga moves!
3 thoughts on “teaching my first yoga class!

  1. Pingback: Life’s just a movie, what’s your role? | Beach Girl Abroad

Leave a Reply

