culture shock and the inner self

catchin’ a sunset at Oxnard Shores


It’s Saturday morning and I’ve been pretty homesick lately.  Miss my fam, dog, friends, my old life.  


Being the rational being that I am, and at the suggestion of a friend, figured out I’m basically in the “negotiation phase” of culture shock. 

Negotiation Phase (from wikipedia)

After some time (usually three months but it may be sooner or later depending on the individual), differences between the old and new culture become apparent and may create anxiety. That sense of excitement will eventually give way to new and unpleasant feelings of frustration and anger as you continue to have unfavorable encounters that strike you as strange, offensive, and unacceptable. These reactions are typically centered on the formidable language barrier as well as stark differences in: public hygiene; traffic safety; the type and quality of the food.  One may long for food the way it is prepared in one’s native country, may find the pace of life too fast or slow, may find the people’s habits annoying, disgusting, and irritating etc. This phase is often marked by mood swings caused by minor issues or without apparent reason. This is where excitement turns to disappointment and more and more differences start to occur. Depression is not uncommon.

Even broke down and cried yesterday at work. 

Thank goodness for good friends (thanks Rachel for catching me crying THREE times in the halls and forcing me to stop grading and sit in her class and talk 🙂

6 more months!

Yoga always helps.
I’ve been missing all the great yoga that Southern California offers…I even ordered a  DVD by Shiva Rea (famous LA yoga instructor) to tide me over till I’m back.  While I was waiting for that DVD to come in the mail (amazon.com delivers here!), I started subscribing to Yogaglo.com, which broadcasts new classes from Santa Monica, CA everyday.  I just took a 60 minute class with Elena Brower which was AWESOME.  it changed my perspective on things and made me stop wallowing.  The style of the class was Anusara (which is “a powerful method of hatha yoga which integrates biomechanical principles of alignment with the celebration of the heart and spirit. Developed by John Friend in 1996, Anusara Yoga® offers a dynamic synthesis of asana technique, yoga philosophy, and the celebration of good company”-yogaglo.com)

This practice could not have been more perfect today…Elena instructed us to “bow” during certain poses and “lean” with our backs to those who support us in life (hello Mom and Dad), 

and she spoke a lot about concept of :

“The stage is the inner-self” from Shiva Sutras 3.10.

How we react or respond to situations is up to us…the chapter we are on right now, how it gets played out, is up to how we see things from our inner self and how we handle things.  we’re in control.

I think this concept will make the next 6 months a lot easier…make it a good 6 months, or count down the days…it’s a choice.  It’s up to me…

Off to go grab dinner with friends…woooo
One thought on “culture shock and the inner self

  1. love love this. I have a feeling your blog is going to help get me through a lot of down days where I am feeling homesick and depressed. Keep going girly…I find you inspiring.

Leave a Reply

