Imaginary Friends

Today in my afterschool class, we read a story called, “Invisible Friend”…about a boy and his imaginary friend.

I asked the kids if they had imaginary friends…2 little girls did. One little girl’s friend was thumb-sized and had wings.

I remember my imaginary friend, Shelley. She stuck around probably until I was 7 or 8. Before my parents divorce…and the crazy turmoil that went with it. Bankruptcy, anger, hurt, confusion. Lots of shit. I think I left her at the beach house we moved out of at that time. I don’t remember taking her with me. I guess I left part of my imagination there, too.

Anyways, hearing these innocent little girls talk about their imaginary friends reminded me of how precious this age and imagination is. They are 6. Which means in Korea…that they go to English school all day, learn violin for another hour after school, maybe go to hagwon (intense private afterschools), and maybe come home around 8 or 9 at night. We push them to read, speak English, pay attention..but at the end of the day, they still make time for imagination.

As adults, can we make time for our imaginations? I dare you. I dare myself. 15 minutes to shut your eyes and daydream. I might have lost this for the last…oh I don’t know…18 years…but I’m determined to get it back…

2 thoughts on “Imaginary Friends

  1. I had an imaginary friend. Her name was Rose. I recently studied that children who have imaginary friends and have extremely traumatic childhoods could end up developing their imaginary friends into dissociations of themselves and then possibly develop DID (dissociative identity disorder..formerly known as multiple personality disorder).this is only a theory though.thank goodness…

    • I’m so sorry….but kind of happy…to be replying to this to years later. I wonder if (in theory of course…) part of our ability to adapt to our abroad situations, adapting our identities, is a positive trait of our multiple personality disorder? Could our ability to cultivate a new community of friends and connection via our blogs, actually be something positive coming from this trait?!
      Anyways, it’s just a theory…thank goodness…Happy New Year, and here’s to our Rose and Shelley…XO!

Leave a Reply

